Central Government (CG) Holidays 2023 | Holidays to be observed in Central Government (CG) Offices during the year 2023 | CG Holiday List Calendar 2023 - Postalstudy | Post Office Blog | Materials for | Exams
2000+ Self Made Questions and Answers have been prepared and posted so for in this site to motivate Postal LDC Exams Aspirants in the form of Quizzes(800+ Questions)/MCQs(900+ Questions)/Matches(400+ Questions)/Can be find in TAG Section.

Header Ads

01/ 02
India Post
02 / 02
India Post

  • Latest Posts

    Central Government (CG) Holidays 2023 | Holidays to be observed in Central Government (CG) Offices during the year 2023 | CG Holiday List Calendar 2023


    Government of India

    Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions

    (Department of Personnel and Training)

    Establishment (JCA) Section

    North Block, New Delhi

    Dated the 16th June, 2022


    Subject: Holidays to be observed in Central Government Offices during the year  2023- reg.

    It has been decided that the holidays, as specified in the Annexure -I to this O.M., will be observed in all the Administrative Offices of the Central Government located at Delhi/New Delhi during the year 2023. In addition, each employee will also be allowed to avail himself/herself of any two holidays to be chosen by him/her out of the list of Restricted Holidays specified at       Annexure - II

    2. Central Government Administrative Offices located outside Delhi / New Delhi shall observe the following holidays compulsorily in addition to three holidays, to be chosen out of the 12 optional holidays indicated below at  para 3.1:

    1. REPUBLIC DAY - 26/01/2023 - Thursday

    2. INDEPENDENCE DAY - 15/08/2023 - Tuesday

    3. MAHATMA GANDHI’S BIRTHDAY - 02/10/2023 - Monday

    4. BUDDHA PURNIMA - 05/05/2023 - Friday

    5. CHRISTMAS DAY - 25/12/2023 - Monday

    6. DUSSEHRA (VIJAY DASHM) - 24/10/2023 - Tuesday

    7. DIWALI (DEEPAVALI) - 12/11/2023 - Sunday

    8. GOOD FRIDAY - 07/April/2023

    9. GURU NANAK’S BIRTHDAY- 27/November/2023 - Monday

    10. ID UL FITR - 22- April-2023 -  Saturday

    11. ID UL ZUHA - 29-June-2023 - Thursday

    12. MAHAVIR JAYANTI - 04-April-2023 - Tuesday

    13. MUHARRAM - 29-July-2023 - Saturday

    14. PROPHET MOHAMMAD’S BIRTHDAY (ID-E-MILAD) - 28-September-2023

    3.1.    For offices located in New Delhi/Delhi, three holidays are selected by the D/o Personnel & Training and for the offices located outside Delhi/New Delhi three holidays are to be chosen by the Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committee in the State Capitals, if necessary, in consultation with Coordination Committees at other places in the State, from the list indicated below. The final list, applicable uniformly to all Central Government offices within the concerned State, shall be notified accordingly and no change can be carried out thereafter. It is also clarified that no change is permissible in the festivals and dates, as indicated at Annexure -I and Annexure-II baring a few exceptions indicated at para 5.1 and 5.2 hereinafter. The 12 optional holidays are as follows:


    2. HOLI







    9. ONAM

    10. PONGAL





    3.2  No substitute holiday should be allowed if any of the festival holidays, initially declared, subsequently happens to fall on a weekly off or any other non-working day or in the event of more than one festival falling on the same day.

    4. The list of Restricted Holidays appended as annexure-II to this O.M. is meant for Central Government Offices located in Delhi / New Delhi. The Coordination Committees at the State Capitals may draw up separate list of Restricted Holidays keeping in view the occasions of local importance. However, the 9 occasions left over, after choosing the 3 variable holidays in para 3.1 above, are also to be included in the list of restricted holidays.

    5.1  For offices in Delhi / New Delhi, any change in the date of holidays inrespect of Idul Fitr, Idu’l Zuha, Muharram and Id-e-Milad, if necessary, depending upon sighting of the Moon, would be declared by the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, after ascertaining the position from the Govt. of NCT of Delhi (DCP, Special Branch, Delhi Police).

    5.2 For offices outside Delhi / New Delhi, the Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committees at the State Capitals are authorised to change the date of holiday, if necessary, based on the decision of the concerned State Governments / Union Territories, in respect of IdulFitr, IdulZuha, Muharram and Id-e-Milad.

    5.3  It may happen that the change of date in respect of the above occasions has to be declared at a very short notice. In such a situation, announcement could be made through P.1.B/T.V./A.LR./ Newspapers and the Heads of Department / Offices of the Central Government may take action according to such an announcement, without waiting for a formal order, about the change of date.

    6. During 2023, Diwali (Deepavali) falls on Sunday, November 12, 2023      (Kartika 21) . In certain States, the practice is to celebrate the occasion a day in advance, i.e., on “Naraka Chaturdasi Day”. In view of this, there is no objection if holiday on account of Deepavali is observed on “Naraka Chaturdasi Day (in place of Deepavali Day) in the Central Government Offices in a State if in that State that day alone is declared as a compulsory holiday for Diwali for the offices of the State Government.

    7. Central Government Organisations which include industrial, commercial and trading establishments would observe upto 16 holidays in a year including three national holidays viz. Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's birthday, as compulsory holidays. The remaining holidays / occasions may be determined by such establishments/organisations themselves for the year 2023, subject to para 3.2 above.

    8. Union Territory Administrations shall decide the list of holidays in terms ofInstructions issued in this regard by the Ministry of Home Affairs.

    9. In respect of Indian Missions abroad, the number of holidays may be notified in accordance with the instructions contained in this Department’s O.M. No.12/5/2002-JCA dated 17 December, 2002. In other words, they will have the option to select 14 (Fourteen) holidays of their own only after including in the list, three National Holidays and Id-ul-Fitr, Muharram and Diwali included in the list of compulsory holidays and falling on days of weekly off.

    10. In respect of Banks, the holidays shall be regulated in terms of the extant instructions issued by the Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance.

    Like and Share

    Click here to Join Telegram Channel

    No comments

    It's all about friendly conversation here at postalstudy. I'd love to hear your thoughts!
    Be sure to check back again because I do make every effort to reply to your comments here.